Ontario WWII Re-enactors Forum Index Ontario WWII Re-enactors
This forum is where WWII Re-enactors can share their knowledge

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

AGM Sten MkII

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ontario WWII Re-enactors Forum Index -> Reviews
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Yorkie
FULL SUPPORTING MEMBER
FULL SUPPORTING MEMBER

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:45 pm    Post subject: AGM Sten MkII Reply with quote

Lee has prodded me to do this, since I've been putting it off for a while.

Now, I'm not very good at reviews of all the intricate details of the gearbox internals and suchlike, I just use the bloody things. So don't even ask me about barrel diameters, bushings, hopups or gearbox versions, I'm as clueless as a pork pie salesman in Jerusalem as far as all that goes. This is just about how it feels and performs.

It is an all-metal construction (I highly doubt that it is steel) so there is a fair amount of weight to it, not far off the real thing. Looks-wise it is very basic and workmanlike in appearance, again just as the real thing was, definitely no German over-engineering here, very simply made.

Getting to the battery compartment can be a pain in the arse, the buttstock and rear sight ring have to be completely unscrewed and disassembled. If you're like me, a sausage fingered clumsy bastard, you have to be very careful taking out the pissy little M2 screw that secures the rear sight ring. I've been lucky up to now. I fully expect to lose the little bleeder before next year. However, once you've done that you connect up the 7.4v LiPo it came with, slide that back into the battery compartment and replace the sight ring and buttstock. Good to go.